WE HERE IN THE EAST – The energy revolution as a web series

enviaM

The energy revolution is multifaceted: Renewable energies, grid expansion, e-mobility and sector coupling. In our campaign “WE HERE IN THE EAST” for enviaM, we explain what’s behind all this.

Situation

Across much of Germany, the energy revolution is not considered a success story. It is perceived as complex, rushed, almost impossible to organize and very expensive. In the east at least, however, the reality is different. No one is driving this reality as successfully and eco-friendly as enviaM, the leading energy provider in former East Germany. But this goes practically unnoticed in the public debate. Here, the east is far ahead.

Goals

“We’d like to be closer to our customers – emotionally as well. What we’ve achieved is first-class. Here in the east we’re clearly mastering the energy revolution while the west is still far behind. And that’s just one of many positive themes.” This is pretty much how conversations sounded at the beginning. So...it’s a classic image campaign? No chance! The brand enviaM not only had to come alive, but above all find more of a human touch, for a broad target group (everyone 18-55): funny, competent, likable, but also down-to-earth – just like the east itself.

Strategy

The campaign idea for “WE HERE IN THE EAST” was born as a projector for the shared pride in a successful energy revolution along with many other exemplary accomplishments. And not by pointing the finger, but in a humorous and entertaining way. It was all digital, with lots of interaction and connected to an info portal in the background.

Implementation

Enter Martin and Paul: With Martin and Paul we created two sympathetic faces who use their web series to communicate complex energy-related topics in an understandable way. Viewers get to know and love the pair and so establish an emotional connection with the brand. “We Here in the East” provides a home for Martin and Paul. The two nice guys from the energy campaign are in the studio and on the road for the energy revolution – and we’re right there with them. Infotainment at its best. You can find Martin and Paul on YouTube and Facebook. Background info is available at www.wir-im-osten.info (currently available in German).

Our favorite episodes

  • Video Preview
  • Video Preview

Outcome

Our campaign had over 19 million impressions and 7.3 million interactions on YouTube alone. Viewers spend an average of one minute and fifty-three seconds watching the videos – about 70% of the full length. On Facebook, we quadrupled our number of fans and our content achieved three million impressions and 850,000 interactions here.What about comments? A lot of positive ones. And let’s be honest – negative ones, too. Our topic moves people, so we answer them, collecting a lot of valuable ideas in the discussions. And we’ll keep doing this until the energy revolution is a complete success here, too. The project has been shortlisted for various prizes – internationally as well.

WIR IM OSTEN - Energiewende als Webserie

enviaM

Die Energiewende ist vielfältig: Regenerative Energien, Netzausbau, Elektromobilität und Sektorkopplung. Was alles dahinter steckt, haben wir in unserer Kampagne WIR IM OSTEN für die enviaM beleuchtet.

Ausgangslage

Die Energiewende gilt in Deutschland in weiten Teilen nicht als Erfolgsgeschichte. Sie wird als komplex, überhastet, kaum organisierbar und teuer wahrgenommen. Dabei ist die Wirklichkeit zumindest im Osten anders. Niemand treibt sie so erfolgreich und auch ökologisch voran wie EnviaM, das führende Energieunternehmen der neuen Bundesländer. Aber das wird in der öffentlichen Diskussion kaum realisiert. Dabei liegt der Osten hier weit vorn.

Ziele

„Wir wünschen uns mehr auch emotionale Nähe zu unseren Zielgruppen. Unsere Leistungen sind vorbildlich. Wir schaffen hier im Osten die Energiewende klar, während der Westen noch weit zurückliegt. Und das ist nur eines von vielen positiven Themen.“ So in etwa hieß es in Gesprächen zu Beginn. Eine klassische Imagekampagne also? Sicher nicht! Die Marke enviaM musste nicht nur erlebbar, sondern für eine breite Zielgruppe (m/w/d 18-55) vor allem menschlicher gemacht werden: humorvoll, kompetent, sympathisch, aber auch bodenständig – eben genau so wieder Osten selbst. 

Strategie

Geboren wurde die Kampagnenidee „Wir im Osten“ als Projektionsfläche für den gemeinsamen Stolz auf eine gelungene Energiewende und viele weitere vorbildliche Leistungen. Aber natürlich nicht mit erhobenem Zeigefinger, sondern unterhaltend und mit Humor. Alles digital und mit viel Interaktionen und Info-Portal dahinter.

Umsetzung

Auftritt Martin und Paul: Mit ihnen haben wir zwei junge Sympathieträger kreiert, die in ihrer Webserie komplexe Energiethemen verständlich transportieren. Der Zuschauer lernt sie kennen und lieben – und baut so eine emotionale Bindung zur Marke auf. „Wir im Osten“ gibt Martin und Paul ein Zuhause. Die zwei netten Typen aus der Energie-WG sind in Sachen Energiewende im Studio und auf Achse – und wir hautnah dabei. Bestes Infotainment. Zu finden sind die beiden auf YouTube und Facebook. Hintergrundinfos gibt’s unter www.wir-im-osten.info.

Unsere Lieblingsfolgen

  • Video Preview
  • Video Preview

Ergebnis

Über 19 Millionen Impressionen und über 7,3  Millionen Interaktionen allein auf YouTube. Die Videos werden im Schnitt 1:53 min geschaut – ca. 70% der Gesamtlänge. Wir konnten die  Zahl der Facebook-Fans vervierfachen und haben hier 3 Millionen Impressionen und 850.000 Interaktionen mit unserem Content erreicht. Kommentare? Viele positive. Und seien wir ehrlich: auch  negative. Unser Thema bewegt, also antworten wir – und sammeln in der Diskussion wertvolle Anregungen. Und zwar so lange, bis wir die Wende auch hier geschafft haben. Das Projekt war auf der Shortlist verschiedener, auch internationaler Preise.